Recipes · Uncategorized

Recipe Round Up 03/06/16-03/12/16

My first week on the new diet recommended by my doctor was actually really easy. I think the hardest part was the meal planning but once I had it done it was super easy to follow. I think I got a bit lucky though. I had already been eating on the healthier side when I started so I didn’t really get any strong cravings. The only craving I really experienced was for soda after about 4 days of not having my daily Diet Coke.

The things that I did notice were mostly positive. I was eating more food and a greater variety of food. I felt less hungry in the afternoons, and I was sleeping better at night. I did still have my cheat day on Saturday when I went to a movie and had a diet coke and some sour patch kids. However, I will say that today I feel groggy and have a bit of a headache and I think the sugar and caffeine from yesterday is a big contributor to how I am feeling today. I am actually really looking forward to this weeks meal plan because of how successful the plan was last week. Plus, last week’s food was just incredibly delicious. I highly recommend the wheat berry salad from last week. I think I could happily live off of that stuff for the rest of my life.

What’s on the menu for this week:

Monday (Vegetarian)

Breakfast: kale, onion, goat cheese, and avocado omelette with 1/2 a grapefruit and cottage cheese

Lunch: Lentil Taco Salad (I am cooking the lentils for this now and it smells amazing)

Dinner: Mediterranean Baked Sweet Potato

Snack: Plain Yogurt with homemade berry compote and toffee crunch granola (from Whole Foods)

Tuesday (Fish Day)

Breakfast: Oatmeal topped with homemade berry compote and granols plus 1/2  a grapefruit and cottage cheese

Lunch: Spaghetti Squash with kale, bacon, goat cheese, and grape tomatoes

Dinner: Roasted Tilapia with Garlic Butter (adapted from here) spicy black beans, and broccoli

Snack: hard boiled eggs, carrots with hummus

Wednesday:

Breakfast: kale, onion, goat cheese, bacon omelette with 1/2 grapefruit with cottage cheese

Lunch: Lentil Taco Salad

Dinner: Skillet Chicken with Cilantro Lime Sauce with steamed asparagus

Snack: Plain yogurt topped with berry compote and granola

Thursday (Fish):

Breakfast: Oatmeal topped with berry compote and granola with 1/2 a grapefruit with cottage cheese

Lunch: Leftover Skillet Chicken and asparagus

Dinner:  Roasted Tilapia with Garlic Butter, spicy black beans, and broccoli

Snack: hard boiled egg, hummus and carrots

Friday (Vegetarian)

Breakfast: kale, onion, goat cheese, and avocado omelette with 1/2 a grapefruit and cottage cheese

Lunch: Lentil Taco Salad (I am cooking the lentils for this now and it smells amazing)

Dinner: Mediterranean Baked Sweet Potato

Snack: Plain Yogurt with homemade berry compote and toffee crunch granola (from Whole Foods)

On Saturday, I am running 8 miles (!!!) for my long run so I will have some oatmeal as a pre-run meal and then the rest of the day will depend on what I feel like for my cheat day. I will probably skip the extra sugar and caffeine this week though.

Leave a Reply

