Recipes · Reviews

Recipe Round up Feb 7th-Feb 13th

Last week, I posted what I was going to make for meals for the week along with the recipes. I did stick to my word and tried them all out for you and here are the reviews, plus a list of what I’ll be making this week!.

Breakfast: Overnight Oats 3 ways.

If you remember from last week, I was making the blueberry muffin, carrot cake, and banana nut recipes from this blog post to use as breakfasts for the week. I am a big fan of overnight oats so it was exciting to try some new recipes. My hands down favorite of the three was the banana nut bread recipe. I substituted peanut butter for almond butter and used some pecans that I already had on hand. To be honest, I was worried about this recipe because it created a smaller portion than the other two and I was not sure it would keep me full, but honestly it kept me full more than the other two and it was the most delicious of the three. Five stars from me!

The blueberry muffin recipe was my next favorite. I added 1/4 cup of plain greek yogurt for some additional protein. It is the lemon in this recipe that really makes it taste like a blueberry muffin. It is almost spot on with my favorite muffin recipe. It was SO good. However, it did not keep me full all morning. I was hungry around 11 am which is not bad at all but it did not last me as long as the banana recipe which is the only reason why I am giving this one 4 starts instead of 5.

Carrot Cake. Hmm. What to say about this one. Well it wasn’t bad per se it was just a bit underwhelming. There was no stand out flavor like the other two and I think it could use some spices to make it a little more flavorful. I also added 1/4 cup of greek yogurt to this one and like the blueberry muffin version, I stayed full until about 11 am. I give this version 3 stars

Lunches: Power Bowls

I made two power bowl recipes this week which can be found here. They were both pretty good. I just think I am not much of a power bowl person. By the end of the week I was ready to try something else. I was always the kid who did not want any of the foods on their plate to be touching each other, so this was quite a step for me to have full lunches coming all out of one bowl of stuff mixed together. I think they were good but they were just not for me. I also love things with lots of flavor neither of these were particularly flavorful, however they did have lots of nutrients and I was not hungry until dinner so that is a plus! Four stars for each!

Dinners: Pork Chop Dinner + White beans, Kale, and Sausage

My pork chop dinner was my own recipe and that post can be found here. It is seriously so good and easy! Try it and let me know what you think!

The white bean, kale and sausage recipe came from here. This is a solid 4 star recipe that was healthy, easy, and delicious.

 

Recipes for this week:

My recipe round up for this week is a bit scarce. I am going to be fasting on Wednesday for Ash Wednesday and the start of lent. Plus on Thursday, I am taking my first trip to Tucson to visit Josh! So I really do not have much to plan this week, however be on the look out for two special original recipe posts in a couple of days!

Breakfast:

I loved my overnight oats so much that I am going to be making the banana nut and blueberry muffin oats again. Plus I already have many of the ingredients so it will be convenient!

Lunch:

I am skipping the power bowls this week and will be reverting back to my normal habit which is to bring leftovers from dinner…which brings me too….

Dinner:

I am craving comfort food today, so I’ll be making a healthy version of beef stroganoff tonight. Be on the look out for a posted original recipe by me later this week.

I am also going to be making this sweet potato and ground turkey skillet as a simple dinner recipe. It is pictured above and the photo and recipe were found here.

 

Have a great week everyone and go Panthers!

Leave a Reply

